TALA logo

Online Texas Adolescent Literacy Academy Unit 4

  • Subject(s): ELA & Reading
  • Grade Range: 5 - 12
  • Release date: 07-26-2016
  • Tags: Texas Adolescent Literacy Academy, TALA, reading, progress monitoring, middle school, fluency, Diagnostic and Progress Monitoring Data, diagnostic, assessment, adolescent literacy, Administering the Texas Middle School Fluency Assessment, Interpreting and Implementing Assessment Results, interpreting, implementing


The Texas Adolescent Literacy Academies help prepare middle school teachers to design appropriate instruction for all students, including those who are struggling with reading due to limited English proficiency, learning disabilities, dyslexia, and other risk factors for reading difficulties. The Texas Adolescent Literacy Academy contains seven units. Units 1–3 are designed for all teachers; Units 4–7 are more appropriate for English Language Arts teachers. Credit-bearing courses are available at the links below. This binder contains Unit 4.

Tier I (Units 1–3)


Tiers II/III (Units 4–7)



No aligned standards.